the imaginative conservative logo

Claes Ryn on The New JacobinismImaginative Conservative senior contributor, Claes Ryn, recently discussed the pernicious influence of neo-conservatismor the “New Jacobinism”on the American republic. Click below to watch parts one and two of this video:

“A conservative is normally somebody who is quite respectful of tradition because tradition is seen as providing importance guidance and support in our efforts to understand what is truly good, true, and beautiful. . . . Neo-conservatives tend to speak in the name of purely abstract principles and frequently to have almost a discomfort with a traditional society, so that when they speak of America, the American Founding, they prefer to think of America as emanating from purely ahistorical principles. Bright people conceived the notion of American government, and they gave it to the American people as lawgivers . . . . Neoconservatives, in other words, are not inclined to remind Americans of the historical origins of their Constitution or general culture.”

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Paul Elmer More, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men).

We address a wide variety of major issues including: What is the essence of conservatism? What was the role of faith in the American Founding? Is liberal learning still possible in the modern academy? Should conservatives and libertarians be allies? What is the proper role for the American Republic in spreading ordered liberty to other cultures/nations?

We have a great appreciation for the thought of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Irving Babbitt and Christopher Dawson, among other imaginative conservatives. However, some of us look at the state of Western culture and the American Republic and see a huge dark cloud which seems ready to unleash a storm that may well wash away what we most treasure of our inherited ways. Others focus on the silver lining which may be found in the next generation of traditional conservatives who have been inspired by Dr. Kirk and his like. We hope that The Imaginative Conservative answers T.S. Eliot’s call to “redeem the time, redeem the dream.”

Print Friendly
"All comments are subject to moderation. We welcome the comments of those who disagree, but not those who are disagreeable."

Please leave a thoughtful, civil, and constructive comment: