the imaginative conservative logo

c.s. lewisA sick society must think much about politics, as a sick man must think much about his digestion; to ignore the subject may be fatal cowardice for one as for the other. But if either comes to regard it as the natural food of the mindif either forgets that we think of such things only in order to be able to think of something else—then what was undertaken for the sake of health has become itself a new and deadly disease. — C.S. Lewis

Books on or by C.S. Lewis may be found in The Imaginative Conservative Bookstore.

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an e-journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Paul Elmer More, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men) . We address a wide variety of major issues including: What is the essence of conservatism? What was the role of faith in the American Founding? Is liberal learning still possible in the modern academy? Should conservatives and libertarians be allies? What is the proper role for the American Republic in spreading ordered liberty to other cultures/nations?

Print Friendly
"All comments are subject to moderation. We welcome the comments of those who disagree, but not those who are disagreeable."
4 replies to this post
  1. Amen, though only in a modern context. Politics was once about the soul; liberalism of necessity precludes this possibility.

  2. Did you interpret “liberalism” properly? I mean by it universal suffrage, constitutional government, and a general recognition in society of the rights and dignities of all men (both parties champion these things, even if they differ in the substance in some respects). It precludes a politics of the soul because rights render the soul an illegitimate object of legislation; you can’t directly build character in the citizenry if there is freedom of religion, speech, association, etc.

  3. If one is properly concerned with improving ones own soul, there is no time left to worry about liberalism or any other ideology. Jesus said, “Remove the plank from your own eye first…” This acknowledges that others indeed have motes in their eyes; but also that one cannot respond effectively to those motes while morally blind oneself.

Please leave a thoughtful, civil, and constructive comment: