the imaginative conservative logo

russell-kirk-e1389495002993To speak of American conservative action…may seem a contradiction in terms. The instinct of the conservative, as Lord Hailsham observes, is to enjoy life as he finds it, not to mold society nearer to his heart’s desire; nor does he think of practical politics as the end and aim of being. Family life, church, literature, good talk, good dinners, sometimes good hunting—these things please him far more than parliamentary intrigue or journalistic controversy. It is this mood of enjoyment, in part, which until recently put conservatives at a disadvantage in the United States. For this has been a land of great expectations, rather than of realized satisfactions.

The conservative has no enthusiasm for circulating petitions or addressing mass meetings. When he acts, he acts only from compulsion.—Confessions of a Bohemian Tory

Books on or by Dr. Kirk may be found in The Imaginative Conservative Bookstore. 

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Paul Elmer More, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men) .

We address a wide variety of major issues including: What is the essence of conservatism? What was the role of faith in the American Founding? Is liberal learning still possible in the modern academy? What is the proper role for the American Republic in spreading ordered liberty to other cultures/nations?

Print Friendly
"All comments are subject to moderation. We welcome the comments of those who disagree, but not those who are disagreeable."
2 replies to this post
  1. And I respectfully submit that the siren-song of politics, the loss of community and the distractions of mass media have made most conservatives less conservative in the way that our sage describes. Not here, though. In TIC's admittedly modern medium, we can augment our fireside readings in a way that St Russell could not in his bachelor days that were often deprived of good conversation in Mecosta. Away from my books and like-minded friends, a coal fire, a glass of madeira and a laptop provide interest and sometimes even merriment. Thankee, Winston and Brad!

Leave a Reply