the imaginative conservative logo

The first talk by Russell Kirk biographer, James Person, tells of horror, terror and the frightful kidnapping of Russell Kirk’s wife.

Harry Veryser, who was Russell Kirk’s ‘roommate’ when Kirk taught at Hillsdale College, tells of the ghosts, séances, exorcisms, and fiery deaths on Piety Hill, the ancestral home of Russell Kirk.

In the keynote address, Ignatius Press author Roger Thomas, drawing heavily from C.S. Lewis’s terrifying novel That Hideous Strength, examines the place of fear in literature and in the defense of the Permanent Things.  He also reads his soon-to-be-released eerie short story, ‘The Narrowing’.

The Dead Philosophers Society is a group of Kirk fans that has recently formed in Michigan that provides a forum for imaginatively conservative speakers.

Books mentioned in this essay may be found in The Imaginative Conservative Bookstore.

ghostWe hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an e-journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Paul Elmer More, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men) .

We address a wide variety of major issues including: What is the essence of conservatism? What does human nature reveal about the way society can be ordered? What was the role of faith in the American Founding? Is liberal learning still possible in the modern academy? Should conservatives and libertarians be allies? What is the proper role for the American Republic in spreading ordered liberty to other cultures/nations?

Print Friendly
"All comments are subject to moderation. We welcome the comments of those who disagree, but not those who are disagreeable."

Leave a Reply