the imaginative conservative logo

poetsIf you’re looking to rhyme all the time with the best,
You might become mates with the mad anapest;
One metrical foot upon which the pest hops
Permits you to pull out the rhythmical stops,
Then four friends will find him, all merry wee men:
Anapaestic tetrameter’s what you have then;
While romping together you all may cut loose –
Your poems will resemble the good Dr. Seuss!
But blank-verse has more of that modernist clout,
And if you prefer it, do please



Books by traditional poets may be found in The Imaginative Conservative Bookstore 

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, Richard Weaver, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson, Paul Elmer More and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men).

We address a wide variety of major issues including: What is the essence of conservatism? What was the role of faith in the American Founding? Is liberal learning still possible in the modern academy? Should conservatives and libertarians be allies? What is the proper role for the American Republic in spreading ordered liberty to other cultures/nations?

Print Friendly
"All comments are subject to moderation. We welcome the comments of those who disagree, but not those who are disagreeable."

Leave a Reply