the imaginative conservative logo

2-old-books_originalShackled to deadlines or deep in the stacks,
The patron of editors, writers and hacks,
And all the good work that their labour entails,
Is the Genovese bishop, Saint Francis de Sales.
Convivial, mystical, pious and skint,
God’s love was the liquor he poured into print;
In the Great Reformation he did rather much
(While colleagues were fumbling with matches and such),
Chiding the wayward that goodness is nigh,
Not fanning the flames when the stakes were so high.

Yet, reviewers of tomes long since hidden away,
Forlorn and forgotten – to whom should they pray,
Labouring long in their garrets by dint
Of love and grim effort, that books out-of-print
Might rise from their shelves and themselves be again
A renewed source of wonder and wisdom to men?
The answer, of course, may surprise and enthral
For Our Lord is their patron, the highest of all;
The great gift of Life!
Undeserved and unbought!
What He gave to Lazarus, they give to Thought.

Find inspiring books, in and out-of-print at The Imaginative Conservative Bookstore.

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, Richard Weaver, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson, Paul Elmer More and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men) .

Print Friendly

Published: Jan 24, 2013
Stephen Masty
Stephen Masty (1954-2015) was a Senior Contributor to The Imaginative Conservative. He was a journalist, a development expert, and a speechwriter for three US presidents, British royalty and heads of government in Asia, Africa and the Caribbean. He spent most of his adulthood working in South Asia including Afghanistan, and he was a writer, poet and artist in Kathmandu.
"All comments are subject to moderation. We welcome the comments of those who disagree, but not those who are disagreeable."
3 replies to this post
  1. This is the best work I have seen my brother write. Amazing, wonderful and inspirational.
    I am impressed. Steve, the pictures you can paint with words continues to thrill me.

Leave a Reply