the imaginative conservative logo

renewing americaThis address was delivered at the 2008 Annual Founders’ Day Breakfast of the Free Enterprise Institute. Josiah Bunting, III became president of The Harry Frank Guggenheim Foundation in 2004. He had previously served as superintendent of the Virginia Military Institute.  From 1966 until 1972 he served on active duty in the Regular Army, attaining the rank of Major. He served with the Ninth Infantry Division in Vietnam, and as an assistant professor of history at West Point. He served as professor of history at the Naval War College, and as president of Briarcliff College (1973-1977) and Hampden Sydney College (1977-1987).

His publications include biographies of Ulysses Grant and George C. Marshall, and four novels. Mr. Bunting’s first novel, The Lionheads, was selected as one of the “Ten Best Novels of 1973″ by Time Magazine; his novel An Education for Our Time was a main selection of the Conservative Book Club in 1998. Since 2007 he has served, as well, as president of Intercollegiate Studies Institute’s Lehrman American Studies Center.

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, Richard Weaver, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson, Paul Elmer More and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men).

Print Friendly

Published: Jul 28, 2012
Author
Josiah Bunting III
Josiah Bunting, III became president of The Harry Frank Guggenheim Foundation in 2004. He had previously served as superintendent of the Virginia Military Institute. From 1966 until 1972 he served on active duty in the Regular Army, attaining the rank of Major. He served with the Ninth Infantry Division in Vietnam, and as an assistant professor of history at West Point. He served as professor of history at the Naval War College, and as president of Briarcliff College (1973-1977) and Hampden Sydney College (1977-1987).
"All comments are subject to moderation. We welcome the comments of those who disagree, but not those who are disagreeable."

Please leave a thoughtful, civil, and constructive comment: