the imaginative conservative logo

This lecture by Charles Murray draws on the themes of his excellent book In Pursuit of Happiness and Good Government. It is a strong argument for the central place of community in conservative thought.

Books by Charles Murray may be found in The Imaginative Conservative Bookstore.

pursuit of happinessWe hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Paul Elmer More, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men).

We address a wide variety of major issues including: What is the essence of conservatism? What was the role of faith in the American Founding? Is liberal learning still possible in the modern academy? Should conservatives and libertarians be allies? What is the proper role for the American Republic in spreading ordered liberty to other cultures/nations?

We have a great appreciation for the thought of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Irving Babbitt and Christopher Dawson, among other imaginative conservatives. However, some of us look at the state of Western culture and the American Republic and see a huge dark cloud which seems ready to unleash a storm that may well wash away what we most treasure of our inherited ways. Others focus on the silver lining which may be found in the next generation of traditional conservatives who have been inspired by Dr. Kirk and his like. We hope that The Imaginative Conservative answers T.S. Eliot’s call to “redeem the time, redeem the dream.”

Print Friendly
"All comments are subject to moderation. We welcome the comments of those who disagree, but not those who are disagreeable."
2 replies to this post
  1. How hard is it pick a name if you don't wish to use your own? Simply pick the Name/URL option and put a name in (ignore URL box). Preferably your own. Think for a moment how hard it is to respond in a comment thread with a number of people using the same "title" anonymous. If I was afraid of somebody finding out who I am I would not be posting public comments on the internet.

Please leave a thoughtful, civil, and constructive comment: