the imaginative conservative logo

Lynn Harold Hough conservatism

Lynn Harold Hough

“The intelligent conservative does not mistake formlessness for emancipation, as the Existentialist does; nor does he confound system with achievement, as the Marxist does. The conservative knows that in religion, truly understood, the creative spirit finds a support of immense value. At the very moment when religion sets about its task of sustaining the soul of civilization, religion also undertakes the work of nurturing the creative spirit. In religion, as in education, the test of truth is the power of those permanent principles which give motive to creative thought and creative act. Conservatism and creative energy belong together; they never can exist apart. Perhaps an understanding of this truth is the most pressing need of our bewildered age.”–Lynn Harold Hough, 1957

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Paul Elmer More, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men).

We address a wide variety of major issues including: What is the essence of conservatism? What was the role of faith in the American Founding? Is liberal learning still possible in the modern academy? Should conservatives and libertarians be allies? What is the proper role for the American Republic in spreading ordered liberty to other cultures/nations?

We have a great appreciation for the thought of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Irving Babbitt and Christopher Dawson, among other imaginative conservatives. However, some of us look at the state of Western culture and the American Republic and see a huge dark cloud which seems ready to unleash a storm that may well wash away what we most treasure of our inherited ways. Others focus on the silver lining which may be found in the next generation of traditional conservatives who have been inspired by Dr. Kirk and his like. We hope that The Imaginative Conservative answers T.S. Eliot’s call to “redeem the time, redeem the dream.”

Print Friendly
"All comments are subject to moderation. We welcome the comments of those who disagree, but not those who are disagreeable."

Leave a Reply