the imaginative conservative logo

sonnetsThey laboured hard to kill the very thing
They swore at length did surely not exist;
Their modern electronic imaging
Came nowhere close to showing what they missed;
Within their shining labs they laboured long,
Expending effort far beyond belief
While learning not where they went sadly wrong,
And this, too, plunged them into mortal grief;
Vain hope to slay what none of them could find,
Which dullards said they saw by night and day,
Rebuked each finely educated mind
Much more than any one of them could say;
Again they studied every chart and graph,
And cooing thus, the Paraclete did laugh.




Books on the topics discussed in Nisi Credideritis may be found in The Imaginative Conservative Bookstore

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservativeis an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, Richard Weaver, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson, Paul Elmer More and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men) .

We address a wide variety of major issues including: What is the essence of conservatism? What was the role of faith in the American Founding? Is liberal learning still possible in the modern academy? Should conservatives and libertarians be allies? What is the proper role for the American Republic in spreading ordered liberty to other cultures/nations?

Print Friendly

Published: Dec 26, 2011
Stephen Masty
Stephen Masty (1954-2015) was a Senior Contributor to The Imaginative Conservative. He was a journalist, a development expert, and a speechwriter for three US presidents, British royalty and heads of government in Asia, Africa and the Caribbean. He spent most of his adulthood working in South Asia including Afghanistan, and he was a writer, poet and artist in Kathmandu.
"All comments are subject to moderation. We welcome the comments of those who disagree, but not those who are disagreeable."
1 reply to this post

Leave a Reply