the imaginative conservative logo

chiliSam brought the Tex-Mex chili they adore
(It won him second prize down at the church);
And Sarah baked her lemon pie (before,
It left the competition in the lurch);
Mae’s lurid tank of Jello, sickly green
With shredded carrots there providing crunch,
Through bioluminescence glows obscene;
Leftover, with limp nachos from the lunch,
Lou’s peanut-butter cookies join the lot;
All that, plus Mary’s most-indifferent slaw,
Is stirred together all within one pot
To feed the gaping, great, collective maw:
But no one wants to eat it, and they say
That most democracies conclude this way

 

 

 

Books on the topics discussed in “Magnum Bonum” may be found in The Imaginative Conservative Bookstore

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservativeis an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, Richard Weaver, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson, Paul Elmer More and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men).

We address a wide variety of major issues including: What is the essence of conservatism? What was the role of faith in the American Founding? Is liberal learning still possible in the modern academy? Should conservatives and libertarians be allies? What is the proper role for the American Republic in spreading ordered liberty to other cultures/nations?

Print Friendly
"All comments are subject to moderation. We welcome the comments of those who disagree, but not those who are disagreeable."

Please leave a thoughtful, civil, and constructive comment: