the imaginative conservative logo

75-Post_show_FREE_preview

20 December, 2011

In today’s final episode of the 2011 Post Show Show, host Mike Church welcomes Prof. Brad Birzer and Winston Elliott, III of The Imaginative Conservative to a round-table discussion of the American Empire and how it may be possible to bring it back in line with the Constitution and the republican way of life/tradition that Americans once cherished and defended. Among today’s thrilling conversation topics:

  • How the classics from Greek & Roman literature are sorely missed today.
  • How to work these back into our busy lives and our kids busy live.
  • When the American military is called it should do its job and go home.
  • Why the Founding generation was just as dirty with their politics and what we can learn from that.
  • What does “conservative” mean and what should it do?

Link to the audio.

Mr. Elliott and Dr. Birzer interview begins approximately 10 minutes into the audio.

Books related to this topic of this essay may be found in The Imaginative Conservative Bookstore

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Paul Elmer More, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men).

We address a wide variety of major issues including: What is the essence of conservatism? What was the role of faith in the American Founding? Is liberal learning still possible in the modern academy? Should conservatives and libertarians be allies? What is the proper role for the American Republic in spreading ordered liberty to other cultures/nations?

 

Print Friendly

Published: Dec 20, 2011
Author
Mike Church
Mike Church is a Senior Contributor at The Imaginative Conservative. He is the host of The Mike Church Show on Sirius Satellite Radio. A radio talk show host, author, filmmaker, and singer/songwriter, he is best known for his fearless ability to skewer liberals and fake conservatives with searing, in‐depth analysis. He was named “The Most Radical Man On The Radio” by “The American Conservative.” He can be heard on Sirius XM Patriot Channel 166 & 14 from 6:00-9:00 a.m. (EST) Monday through Friday.
"All comments are subject to moderation. We welcome the comments of those who disagree, but not those who are disagreeable."

Please leave a thoughtful, civil, and constructive comment: