the imaginative conservative logo


The Invention of Lefse: A Christmas Story, by Larry Woiwode, Crossway, 2011.

So it is that time of year when the “seasonal” reader is bombarded with lots of maudlin Christmas tales with the main objective of giving that warm, sappy feeling. It is always refreshing when a rare story comes along that gives a window into another time and place and gives the reader a reason to appreciate the simple gifts of life.

Talented author, Larry Woiwode offers a story revealing the innocent longings of a precious child, the heartbreaking realities of life and the spirit of due diligence. Through out the reader is given numerous morsels of goodness and beauty.

This lovely little book would be perfect Christmas reading to be read aloud for the whole family. It would remind older hearers of harder times, and possibly teach the younger listeners that Christmas is about much more than the longed for technological acquisition.

Books mentioned in this essay may be found in The Imaginative Conservative Bookstore. This essay was originally published on Musings of a Christian Humanist and appears here with Dr. Woods’ gracious permission.

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Paul Elmer More, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men) .

Print Friendly
"All comments are subject to moderation. We welcome the comments of those who disagree, but not those who are disagreeable."

Leave a Reply