the imaginative conservative logo

afghan jokes

He said he sold a simple slab of meat
For thirty silver pieces minted new;
And when the Friday moonlight struck the street
It seemed to prove his hateful statement true;
They say they dined that night in wondrous style,
With gallant toasts and speeches read aloud,
That soared above the silence; all the while
Below, a sullen, surly, restive crowd
Of fifty million slaughtered in the wombs,
For nothing more than mere convenience’ sake,
Stood mute while silent bands strode past the tombs
Where legions lay for someone on the take:
As gourmands sniffed the blood upon the cork,
An eagle died upon a silver fork.

Books related to this poem, Suspiria de Profundis, may be found in The Imaginative Conservative Bookstore

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservativeis an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, Richard Weaver, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson, Paul Elmer More and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men) .

We address a wide variety of major issues including: What is the essence of conservatism? What was the role of faith in the American Founding? Is liberal learning still possible in the modern academy? Should conservatives and libertarians be allies? What is the proper role for the American Republic in spreading ordered liberty to other cultures/nations?

Print Friendly
"All comments are subject to moderation. We welcome the comments of those who disagree, but not those who are disagreeable."

Leave a Reply