the imaginative conservative logo

laurel good

Imaginative Conservative Readers, if you need to read something just stunning—in terms of form and thought—treat yourself to Laurel Good’s most recent post at her website, Breeding Lilacs.

You fill the hollow of my arm, child, bundled snug against the drafty night. Fingers no longer tiny, but still small, quiver delicately at your cheek. Your little hands are always the last part of you to feel the weight of sleep. And just who are you, Samuel? . . .

Books mentioned in this essay may be found in The Imaginative Conservative Bookstore.

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, Richard Weaver, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson, Paul Elmer More and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men) .


Print Friendly
"All comments are subject to moderation. We welcome the comments of those who disagree, but not those who are disagreeable."

Leave a Reply