the imaginative conservative logo

chuck grimmett photographyI realize we at The Imaginative Conservative (no relation to the NICE) rarely publish photographs unless connected, in some rather direct way, to a specific blog post.

If you’re interested in some excellent photographs, though, I highly recommend going to Chuck Grimmett’s blog:
http://cagrimmett.com/blog/

Chuck Grimmett is a student and a friend, currently traveling with our honors program in Turkey. He captures some beautiful moments. My favorite is the photo of the shopkeeper, at the bottom of the posts.  What character. (and, reposted to the left)

Thank you, Chuck.

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Paul Elmer More, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men) .

We address a wide variety of major issues including: What is the essence of conservatism? What was the role of faith in the American Founding? Is liberal learning still possible in the modern academy? Should conservatives and libertarians be allies? What is the proper role for the American Republic in spreading ordered liberty to other cultures/nations?

We have a great appreciation for the thought of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Irving Babbitt and Christopher Dawson, among other imaginative conservatives. However, some of us look at the state of Western culture and the American Republic and see a huge dark cloud which seems ready to unleash a storm that may well wash away what we most treasure of our inherited ways. Others focus on the silver lining which may be found in the next generation of traditional conservatives who have been inspired by Dr. Kirk and his like. We hope that The Imaginative Conservative answers T.S. Eliot’s call to “redeem the time, redeem the dream.”

Print Friendly
"All comments are subject to moderation. We welcome the comments of those who disagree, but not those who are disagreeable."
1 reply to this post
  1. Mr Grimmett, you are a first-class photographer and thanks for these. If countries had ratios for exotica and easiness to visit, Turkey may rank the highest. If you have a moment some day, might you write us something on how Turkish values and traditions compare with American ones, and what we might learn by observing them?

Please leave a thoughtful, civil, and constructive comment: