the imaginative conservative logo

untruth

[Posting anonymous on the internet—one of the most unvirtuous things a person can do, in my opinion—sparked the idea for this piece.]

Executive Lies
The American celebrations surrounding Osama Bin Laden’s death have been startling, to say the least.  That he was a murderer and an enemy of humanity cannot be denied.  That we should celebrate his death through festivities, though, makes us little better than those we have traditionally called barbaric.  At best, the moment of his assassination should be a sobering one.
This aside, one of the most disturbing things to come out of president’s ordered hit on Osama Bin Laden has been the rapidly shifting accounts of the terrorist’s death coming out of the White House.  The story, as told officially, has come in a variety of different packages, some brightly colored, others rather drab; we might still see more arrive.

It is as though post-modernism has gripped the current administration; whatever story told becomes the official story, even if it contradicts the previous story.  We, as citizens, are merely to accept whatever new account we’re given.

To keep reading (at CatholicVote.org), please click here.

Books mentioned in this essay may be found in The Imaginative Conservative Bookstore

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Paul Elmer More, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men) .

Print Friendly
"All comments are subject to moderation. We welcome the comments of those who disagree, but not those who are disagreeable."

Please leave a thoughtful, civil, and constructive comment: