the imaginative conservative logo

by Samuel Taylor Coleridge

Samuel Taylor Coleridge twilight

Samuel Taylor Coleridge

In every state, not wholly barbarous, a philosophy, good or bad, there must be. However slightingly it may be the fashion to talk of speculation and theory, as opposed (sillily and non-sensically opposed) to practice, it would not be difficult to prove, that such as is the existing spirit of speculation, during any given period, such will be the spirit and tone of the religion, legislation, and morals, nay, even of the fine arts, the manners, and the fashions. Nor is this the less true, because the great majority of men live like bats, but in twilight, and know and feel the philosophy of their age only by its reflections and refractions.–Essays on His Own Times


We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, Richard Weaver, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson, Paul Elmer More and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men).

We address a wide variety of major issues including: What is the essence of conservatism? What was the role of faith in the American Founding? Is liberal learning still possible in the modern academy? Should conservatives and libertarians be allies? What is the proper role for the American Republic in spreading ordered liberty to other cultures/nations?

 

Print Friendly
"All comments are subject to moderation. We welcome the comments of those who disagree, but not those who are disagreeable."
2 replies to this post
  1. I love the way these guys wrote. I wonder if they talked that way?

    But, your'e right Sam, we must have principles to live by, no matter what the prevailing wind blows in.

  2. Dear WC: our historians may answer this better than I, but I gather that (say) Burke's speeches were delivered in Parliament from few notes and then taken from Hansard (like the later US Congressional Record), re-edited and published. I take this to mean that they did, or could, speak this way. It makes our modern 'orators' look rather pathetic, yes?

Please leave a thoughtful, civil, and constructive comment: