the imaginative conservative logo

Aldous Huxley comfort unhappy

Aldous Huxley

‘But I like the inconveniences.’
‘We don’t,’ said the Controller. ‘We prefer to do things comfortably.’
‘But I don’t want comfort. I want God, I want poetry, I want real danger, I want freedom, I want goodness. I want sin.’
‘In fact,’ said Mustapha Mond, ‘you’re claiming the right to be unhappy.’
‘All right then,’ said the Savage defiantly, ‘I’m claiming the right to be unhappy.’ –Aldous Huxley’s Brave New World

Books by Mr. Huxley and others are available at The Imaginative Conservative Bookstore.

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, Richard Weaver, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson, Paul Elmer More and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men).

We address a wide variety of major issues including: What is the essence of conservatism? What was the role of faith in the American Founding? Is liberal learning still possible in the modern academy? Should conservatives and libertarians be allies? What is the proper role for the American Republic in spreading ordered liberty to other cultures/nations?

 

Print Friendly
"All comments are subject to moderation. We welcome the comments of those who disagree, but not those who are disagreeable."
2 replies to this post
  1. Great quote. 🙂 I feel like Huxley was getting at the crux problem with modernity: the very possibility of pain, unhappiness, and sorrow, when, truly, all of those answers can be found and answered in the crucifixion and, subsequently, the resurrection. Thanks for posting this!

  2. Huxley’s “The Perennial Philosophy” was instrumental in pulling me away from postmodern skepticism and scientific materialism. Despite his heterodoxy, I find his penetrating critiques of modernity of the highest quality.

    Vincit Omnia Veritas

Please leave a thoughtful, civil, and constructive comment: