the imaginative conservative logo

joseph pearce newman

Everything Joe writes is brilliant. I know of no exceptions.  Indeed, I consider him our greatest living biographer.

Here, at Carl Olson’s Ignatius Insight, Joe explains the significance of Newman.

Books mentioned in this essay may be found in The Imaginative Conservative Bookstore. Essays by Dr. Birzer may be found here. Essays by Joseph Pearce may be found here.

Joseph Pearce, is a Senior Contributor to The Imaginative Conservative  and writer in residence at Thomas More College in New Hampshire, is the author of eighteen books. His works include: G.K. Chesterton: Wisdom and InnocenceLiterary ConvertsTolkien: Man and MythSolzhenitsyn:  A Soul in ExileThe Quest for Shakespeare and Old Thunder:  A Life of Hilaire Belloc. Mr. Pearce has four new books due to be published fall 2013. He is the series editor of the Ignatius Critical Editions, which focuses on traditional readings of the classics of world literature; he is also executive director of Catholic Courses, and editor of the St. Austin Review. Mr. Pearce has hosted two thirteen-part television series for EWTN on Shakespeare’s Catholicism, and is in the midst of filming special documentaries for EWTN on Tolkien and The Lord of the Rings.

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Paul Elmer More, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men) .

We address a wide variety of major issues including: What is the essence of conservatism? What was the role of faith in the American Founding? Is liberal learning still possible in the modern academy? Should conservatives and libertarians be allies? What is the proper role for the American Republic in spreading ordered liberty to other cultures/nations?

 

 

Print Friendly
"All comments are subject to moderation. We welcome the comments of those who disagree, but not those who are disagreeable."

Please leave a thoughtful, civil, and constructive comment: