the imaginative conservative logo

132-forbes-americas-best-collegesReaders of The Imaginative Conservative might be interested in a few pieces floating around the internet this morning.

Jim Otteson offers—rather naturally—an excellent critique of the new college rankings as decreed by Forbes. His article can be found at Pileus.

134-viking_waxeThe New York Times has a fascinating piece on Danish “austerity” measures.  The Danish government has just decided to cut unemployment benefits from four years to two years.  What would their Viking ancestors have said about this?

Oh, what a 1,000 years can do to a people.

136-elements_smFinally, for those of us writing/blogging on our iPads, this program—Second Gear’s Elements—looks quite good.  Macworld has a solid review of it here.

Back to listening to some old (1973) Genesis and preparation for fall classes . . . .

Books on topics discussed in this essay may be found in The Imaginative Conservative Bookstore

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Paul Elmer More, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men) .

We address a wide variety of major issues including: What is the essence of conservatism? What was the role of faith in the American Founding? Is liberal learning still possible in the modern academy? Should conservatives and libertarians be allies? What is the proper role for the American Republic in spreading ordered liberty to other cultures/nations?

Print Friendly
"All comments are subject to moderation. We welcome the comments of those who disagree, but not those who are disagreeable."

Leave a Reply