the imaginative conservative logo

George Carey

George Carey

Liberty Fund has released a DVD starring none other than our own George Carey. A CONVERSATION WITH GEORGE W. CAREY features telling insights on the nature of our constitutional order, the breakdown of the separation of powers, the decline of political science as a profession, and the prospects for constitutional morality in our troubled times. Professor Carey is always a fascinating speaker with much to say that is important for all who value ordered liberty and Liberty Fund did a particularly fine job of letting him speak and showcasing the coherence of his views on politics, the person, and the proper nature of human community. Fair warning, some guy named Frohnen appears a couple of times to ask inane questions, but his screen time is quite limited and the overall picture is well worth viewing. The DVD can be found in the online catalog at A brief preview is below.


Books mentioned in this essay may be found in The Imaginative Conservative Bookstore

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Paul Elmer More, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men) .

We address a wide variety of major issues including: What is the essence of conservatism? What was the role of faith in the American Founding? Is liberal learning still possible in the modern academy? Should conservatives and libertarians be allies? What is the proper role for the American Republic in spreading ordered liberty to other cultures/nations?

We have a great appreciation for the thought of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Irving Babbitt and Christopher Dawson, among other imaginative conservatives. However, some of us look at the state of Western culture and the American Republic and see a huge dark cloud which seems ready to unleash a storm that may well wash away what we most treasure of our inherited ways. Others focus on the silver lining which may be found in the next generation of traditional conservatives who have been inspired by Dr. Kirk and his like. We hope that The Imaginative Conservative answers T.S. Eliot’s call to “redeem the time, redeem the dream.”

Books on the topic of this essay may be found in The Imaginative Conservative Bookstore.

Print Friendly
"All comments are subject to moderation. We welcome the comments of those who disagree, but not those who are disagreeable."
1 reply to this post

Leave a Reply