the imaginative conservative logo

Leviathan HobbsThe Washington Post published a series of articles on the–seemingly out of control–growth of Leviathan.

While the growth began at the beginning of the previous century with the presidency of TR, it skyrocketed at the beginning of this century under Bush II and continues under King B. Hussein Obama. All of this is being done by Republicans and Democrats under the auspices of “national security”. . . of course.

Every patriotic American should read these articles and be very, very afraid.

Thanks to Walter Grinder for sending me the link.

Books mentioned in this essay, including Hobbes’ Leviathan, may be found in The Imaginative Conservative Bookstore.

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, Richard Weaver, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson, Paul Elmer More and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men).

We address a wide variety of major issues including: What is the essence of conservatism? What was the role of faith in the American Founding? Is liberal learning still possible in the modern academy? Should conservatives and libertarians be allies? What is the proper role for the American Republic in spreading ordered liberty to other cultures/nations?

Print Friendly
"All comments are subject to moderation. We welcome the comments of those who disagree, but not those who are disagreeable."
1 reply to this post
  1. Agreed: that we must find a way to back out of the administrative state, and return to self-governance. I assume this means re-affirming and cultivating prudence, rather than expertise, as the foundation of the right to govern. Still, when our whole lives implicitly recognize the supremacy of expertise, how do we back away?

    I know this is the thousand dollar question, not answerable in a combox, but I'd like to think about how we can gradually disengage ourselves from tarbaby.

Leave a Reply